Internet Explorer 11

Microsoft Internet Explorer is a web browser application created by Microsoft primarily for Microsoft Windows. It was initially based on Spyglass Mosaic. At various points, Internet Explorer was also available for MacOS, Solaris, and HP-UX.

At its 1995 release, Internet Explorer competed with the Mosaic web browser and Netscape Navigator. Home Internet access was still somewhat new and competed against proprietary services like CompuServe, AOL, and Microsoft's own MSN.

Microsoft aggressively and abusively positioned Internet Explorer as part of their "browser war" to eliminate all competition. Microsoft fiercely pushed third party products to bundle Internet Explorer, and web sites to work only in Internet Explorer.

In 1998, Microsoft was hit with an antitrust suit, much of which involved their browser bundling.

By around 2004, Microsoft had destroyed most of their competition, dominated the browser market, and let IE stagnate until released Firefox.

After Internet Explorer 11, Microsoft supplanted IE with "Microsoft Edge" which eventually switched to the Google Chrome rendering engine. Something that would have been unthinkable back then.

Internet Explorer is freely redistributable. But is archived here, as much software (stupidly) requires it.


Release notes

IE 11 was bundled with Windows 8.1. It could be installed on Windows 7. Windows 8 users had to update to Windows 8.1.

This is the last version of Internet Explorer. It was replaced with Microsoft Edge. Initially Microsoft Edge had a new, unique rendering engine, however that was replaced with Google Chrome.

Windows 11 omits the option to run Internet Explorer directly, but its rotting remains are still there because too much stuff would break if they were removed.

Installation instructions

In new Soviet Russia, Internet Explorer installs YOU.

Product type
Application Web Browser
Release date
End of life date
Minimum CPU
1.2GHz x86/x64
Minimum RAM
Minimum free disk space
User interface
Download count
258 (0 for release)


There are no downloads associated with this release.


Comments by