Games for Windows 98

edited October 2016 in Software
What are some good games that run properly on Windows 98 that I could play to test the system I have? It has a Pentium 2 400MHz, 256MB RAM and a 6GB hard drive. The video card is a Nvidia Tnt2 Model 64 (32MB) Thanks!

Comments

• Return to Castle Wolfenstein
    Colin McRae rally (the first one)
    Recoil - tank game from Zipper Games
    First GTA game maybe
  • Try eGames miniverse. I used to play this when I was 3 years old and I recently started playing it again (VirtualBox is required since it won't run on Windows 7). On on page (http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/pc/ ... miniverse/), there is a download link for a rar with the contents of the original game CD. Close all of the add tabs that pop up (not to many, don't worry.), wait until you get redirected to the appropriate filedrop page and click the button to download MINIGOLF.rar. Extract the folder MINIGOLF from that rar and open it. Take the folder contents and burn them to a CD. This is the BEST golf game ever. Hope this helps. :)
  • Most 2D stuff up to 2002-ish, I think. 3D games up to 2000, because Pentium 2 was slowly being abandoned by gaming companies afterwards.

As for concrete examples, you could help a bit by saying which genres you enjoy :)

If it's a simple benchmark you seek, you can do it with Unreal Tournament 99 and No One Lives Forever 1, for example. If you don't have either, the demos can do: get the UT demo here and the NOLF1 demo here.
  • Most 2D stuff up to 2002-ish, I think. 3D games up to 2000, because Pentium 2 was slowly being abandoned by gaming companies afterwards.

As for concrete examples, you could help a bit by saying which genres you enjoy :)

If it's a simple benchmark you seek, you can do it with Unreal Tournament 99 and No One Lives Forever 1, for example. If you don't have either, the demos can do: get the UT demo here and the NOLF1 demo here.