Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:08 am | Post subject: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:01 am
I have a DOS machine with no floppy drive, just a CD-ROM. I also use DOSBox. How do I use a set of 3.5" floppy images? I'm trying to install C++ for DOS, but not sure how to go about it. Even if I had a floppy drive, how would I transfer the images to the floppies?

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:55 am | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline
Developer/CTO
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2004 11:20 am
Location: Anaheim, CA
This is not a site issue. Moving to software.

_________________
The problem with today's America:

R-Type #winboards wrote:
[22:57:37] <Shawn|4650M> I voted for him
[22:57:48] <Shawn|4650M> without much research


Please remember that your political opinions are unwelcome on WinBoards and the WinBoards GoldenSwamp(TM) (a.k.a the Administration) is free to do "what they want" just liek zomg #MAGA #whitehouse.gov @realDonaldTrump


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 12:52 pm | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:11 pm
Location: North Carolina
If you want to do serious work instead of games, you'll want to use Virtual PC 2007 and install DOS inside of that. There's a menu for mounting floppies. If you insist on DOSBox, use WinImage to extract the files to a single folder, put it in DOSBox's path, and run the installer. DOS machine with no floppy drive? That's an issue. CD or tape drive, or replace the missing/busted FDD.

_________________
What is THIS man doing here?!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:33 pm | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 9:01 am
So for a DOS machine can I use WinImage to copy the contents of all 5 disks to a single CD and install from that?

I guess I'll need to try it. It seems like some of those old installers expected the disks to be in a certain way.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 2:34 pm | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline
Peace Ownz
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 19, 2004 12:50 pm
https://www.dosbox.com/wiki/IMGMOUNT


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:05 pm | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:11 pm
Location: North Carolina
malachi151 wrote:
So for a DOS machine can I use WinImage to copy the contents of all 5 disks to a single CD and install from that?

I guess I'll need to try it. It seems like some of those old installers expected the disks to be in a certain way.

Use WinImage to extract the files, then burn them to a CD using Windows Explorer, if you have a modern version or Windows. Just remember to Master the disc, don't use that Live File System crap or whatever it's called. If you want, you could also use PowerISO to make a CD image and burn it to a disc from there.

_________________
What is THIS man doing here?!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:11 pm | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline
Library Director
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2013 12:46 am
malachi151 wrote:
I guess I'll need to try it. It seems like some of those old installers expected the disks to be in a certain way.

Correct, some installers will ONLY install from a floppy disk. Some check things like each disk's volume label, and many are hard coded to drive "A:".

Others, especially Microsoft products from ~1994 will take special action if they determine they are not being installed from a floppy, such as expecting sub folders in the form \disk1, \disk2, \disk3.

When using an emulator or virtualizer, ideally the software should simply give you a button or menu item to click on, that will let you specify an IMG file to use as an emulated floppy drive. But some emulators insist on making people's lives hard, so you will have to read the manual and see what obscure command they happen to use.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2017 3:18 pm | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2016 3:11 pm
Location: North Carolina
SomeGuy wrote:
malachi151 wrote:
I guess I'll need to try it. It seems like some of those old installers expected the disks to be in a certain way.

Correct, some installers will ONLY install from a floppy disk. Some check things like each disk's volume label, and many are hard coded to drive "A:".

Others, especially Microsoft products from ~1994 will take special action if they determine they are not being installed from a floppy, such as expecting sub folders in the form \disk1, \disk2, \disk3.

When using an emulator or virtualizer, ideally the software should simply give you a button or menu item to click on, that will let you specify an IMG file to use as an emulated floppy drive. But some emulators insist on making people's lives hard, so you will have to read the manual and see what obscure command they happen to use.

Thanks, SomeGuy, forgot about MS doing that retarded crap. So just test the installer on a VM before you try burning anything to a disc.

_________________
What is THIS man doing here?!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 6:30 pm | Post subject: Re: How do you use disk img files?
 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 19, 2013 2:25 pm
Location: US of A
I just spent almost an entire day reworking Setup.inf for Image Composer so that it would allow installing from the HD insteead of CD.

What an archaaaic syntax that ACME Setup installer uses!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

Search for:
Powered by phpBB
2003 - 2016 WinWorld