Windows 2000 installation trouble

edited March 2012 in Software
I have recently downloaded Windows 2000 Pro SP4. (twice)

I am getting the following error...

.sif file corrupt

Value 0 on line in section SourceDiskFiles sp4.cab

I'm assuming there is a corrupt file in the service pack ???

I am a bit new to all this but after I downloaded the files from jumbofiles.com, I extracted the .rar to a folder on my pc. Then I used WinImage and clicked on extract and put them in a different folder on my pc. Finally, I used Nero to burn the files that I extracted onto my pc to a cd.

Am I doing this process wrong? I downloaded the file twice because I was thinking that maybe I got a corrupt file in my download, but I get the same error on both cd's that I made from the two different downloads.

Any help is appreciated...

Thanks. :(

Comments

• So after extracting the ISO from the archive, you're using WinImage to extract the files from the ISO? That is the source of your problem. Burn the ISO directly using Nero - Burn Image in the File menu if I remember correctly.

Good luck.
  • I recently downloaded 2KSP4 from WinWorld, burned it to a CD, and installed it on my Asus C3. Worked fine for me, so at least the file being hosted is working... are you sure it downloaded alright?

Oh, I see you downloaded it from "jumbofiles.com," obviously another one of those file sharing sites. Why not download it from WinWorld?
  • GDEA73 wrote:
    I recently downloaded 2KSP4 from WinWorld, burned it to a CD, and installed it on my Asus C3. Worked fine for me, so at least the file being hosted is working... are you sure it downloaded alright?

Oh, I see you downloaded it from "jumbofiles.com," obviously another one of those file sharing sites. Why not download it from WinWorld?
    That is one of the winworld download mirrors (they are the replacements to the megaupload files)
  • Duff wrote: